Francais

Western Canada

Lead sponsor for the 39 Canadian Brigade Group (39 BCG) Gala Dinner

Gala Dinner

Canada Company was delighted to be the lead sponsor for the 39 Canadian Brigade Group (39 BCG) Gala Dinner, with proceeds going towards the 39 CBG Military Family Resource Centre. The 39 CBG Military Family Resource Centre is a voice for military families dedicated to providing services that meet the needs and challenges relevant to military lifestyle. Canada Company Members present at the Gala were Dan Whittle, Hon Colonel (Ret) Steve Millen, Bill Waugh, Marcello DeCotiis, MWO (Ret) Gavin Lee, Hon Colonel (Ret) Don Hewson.

BC Chapter, Donation to 19 Wing Padre’s Benevolent Fund

BC Chapter Canada Company members

Canada Company was proud to present a cheque for $20,000 to the 19 Wing Padre's Benevolent Fund. This brings Canada Company’s support to over $40,000 since 2013. This fund is used for urgent and unexpected financial need for members of 19 Wing and their families, including items such as gas, ferries, and meals when military members need to travel to hospital on the mainland with sick children, bringing a parent of a spouse undergoing surgery to visit during a difficult time, and approximately 20 gift cards for local grocery store and other retailers during the Christmas season for families in need.

Canada Company ConvergX 2017 Charity of Choice

BC Chapter Canada Company members

Canada Company President, HCol Anglela Mondou discusses Military Employment Transition programs with key sectors.

On February 8th, 2017 Canada Company was proud to be selected as the Charity of Choice for ConvergX! Bringing together the Energy, Global Defence and Mining sectors, ConvergX directly aligned with development of Canada Company’s newly announced digital METForce application, a searchable database that will enable the connection of Military Veterans with key industry sectors searching for talent. We plan to launch this exciting new digital app in September 2017.

Canada Company President, Angela Mondou and Director of Transition Services, Dwayne Cormier hosted the evening scotch tasting and cocktail reception for our Alberta Chapter in conjunction with the ConvergX Conference. 

By hosting this event in Calgary, Canada Company seeks to increase our ability to engage the local business and military communities in the city and surrounding region, and to facilitate collaboration on issues relevant to both the public and private sectors.

BC Chapter, Donation to 4 Wing Padres Benevolent Fund

BC Chapter Canada Company members

On Friday, June 3rd, 2016, BC Chapter President HCol Don Hewson led a group of BC Chapter Canada Company members to travel to CFB Cold Lake, Alberta to observe the annual Operation Maple Flag, held at the Cold Lake Air Weapons Range. Each year, contingents from a variety of allied militaries take part in one of the largest exercises of its kind. This year, our BC Chapter members had the pleasure of observing contingents from the US Air Force, the US Air Force Reserve, the Kentucky Air National Guard, the US Marine Corps, the Royal Air Force, and the French Air Force.

After engaging during the lunch break with military members of 4 Wing, which is based at Cold Lake, Canada Company showed their appreciation for the unique opportunity and pooled their donations together to provide the 4 Wing Padres Benevolent Fund with a donation cheque for $10,000. The Benevolent Fund then uses donations like this to support members of 4 Wing and their families in times of unexpected financial need.

19 Wing Padres Benevolent Fund

Padres Benevolent 2016 Donation Cheque

HCol Donald Hewson, (right) Canada Company BC Chapter Chair, presents, Father George Helou, Captain in the RCAF, 19 Wing, with a cheque April 15, 2016.

Canada Company was proud to present a cheque for $6500 to the 19 Wing Padres Benevolent Fund. This brings Canada Company’s support to over $20,000 since 2013. This fund is used for urgent unexpected financial need for members of 19 Wing and their families, including such items as gas, ferries and meals when military members need to travel to hospital on the mainland with sick children, bringing a parent of a spouse undergoing surgery to visit during this difficult time or approximately 20 gift cards for local grocery store and other retailers during the Christmas season for families in need.
The chaplains at 19 Wing actively raise money for the Fund throughout the year, including The Beard Growing Challenge, but this donation represents a substantial jump in their abilities to provide emergency support to local military families throughout the year.

BC Chapter Update: Member Engagement Event

LCol Ed Izatt

On Tuesday, February 9th, 2016, members of Canada Company's BC Chapter had an opportunity to hear a first-hand account of Operation Renaissance, the CAF designation for the relief efforts carried out by the Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) in Nepal in late April and May of 2015. The presentation, which was made by Lieutenant - Colonel Ed Izatt, the Commanding Officer of the DART at the time of its deployment, provided listeners with an excellent example of the diverse capabilities the CAF possesses, and the importance of continued humanitarian support efforts around the globe. 

Rescue Exercise (SAREX)

Sarex

The Royal Canadian Air Force RCAF hosted the National Search and Rescue Exercise (SAREX) from September 14 to 19 at 19 Wing Comox. This year's annual event was organized by 442 Transport and Rescue Squadron. The week long event brings together search and rescue units - military and civilian - in challenging training scenarios that mimic real-world missions. The competition between team is designed to maintain and refine skills in parachute accuracy, emergency medical response, search procedures, communication, aircraft and equipment maintenance, as well as team spirit. This year's event included all Canadian Armed Forces SAR units, plus international participants. Several Canada Company members were pleased to take a helicopter trip to Comox to observe and show their support.

Hewson Snowbird

Hewson and Snowbirds

Canada Company member and BC Chapter President Don Hewson received a great honour on August 15, 2015 during the festivities surrounding the Comox Air Show when he was inducted into the Society of Honorary Snowbirds. According to the Snowbirds website, this great honour is reserved for those that “have demonstrated an unwavering, whole-hearted, selfless and enduring commitment to the team and its mission”.

The Canadian Forces Snowbirds (431 Air Demonstration Squadron) is a Canadian icon comprised of serving members of the Canadian Armed Forces. Their pilots and technicians work as a team to bring thrilling performances to the North American public. Serving as Canadian ambassadors, the Snowbirds demonstrate the Skill, Professionalism and Teamwork inherent in the women and men of the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) and the Canadian Armed Forces. 

Congratulations Don!

MGen Dave Wheeler Event in Vancouver

Dave Wheeler Event in Vancouver

Canada Company's BC Chapter gathered for a Membership dinner on May 13th at the beautiful Loden Hotel on Melville Street in downtown Vancouver. In addition to Canada Company members Patrick Ma, Tom Gautreau, Marcello de Cotiis, Bill Waugh, Jeff Stibbards, Marty Dohm and Chapter President Don Hewson, we were honoured to host Major-General Dave Wheeler, Commander 1st Cdn Air Division. 

Vice-Admiral Norman in Calgary

Mark Norman and Angela Mondou

On March 2nd, 2015, Canada Company hosted a member engagement event at the Calgary Petroleum Club. The keynote speaker of the evening, Vice-Admiral Mark Norman, captivated the crowd with his thought-provoking discussion on Canadian Security and Defence issues. Vice-Admiral Norman’s forthcoming and insightful answers during the Q&A session left the audience with a greater understanding of the issues that Canada faces today, both domestically and abroad. Many thanks to the newly minted Canada Company Alberta Chapter president Gord Ritchie for his help in organizing this outstanding event.

Vancouver Canucks Support the Troops

Canucks game

WO Russ Robertson (L) and Jonathan Wall (R)

Warrant Officer Russ Robertson, Sergeant Major for the 6th Intelligence Company, was proud to be selected to attend the Canucks game on February 16, 2015 as a guest of the Canucks organization. Mr. Jonathan Wall, Director of Hockey Administration for the Vancouver Canucks, has generously donated tickets to Canada Company to be distributed to members of our Canadian Armed Forces throughout the 2014-2015 season. With two tours of Bosnia and one tour of Afghanistan under his belt, WO Robertson was thrilled to be able to share the experience with his father, Ed. Father and son cheered their team on to a 3-2 win over the Minnesota Wild. 

Dinner at Vancouver Club - Nov 28, 2014

Dinner at Vancouver Club

The British Columbia Chapter was pleased to welcome General Tom Lawson, Chief of Defence Staff, to a dinner held at the Vancouver Club on November 28, 2014. Don Hewson, BC Chapter President, welcomed Gen Lawson; Col Tom Dunne, Commander of 19 Wing Comox; Cdr Jeffrey Climenhaga, Commanding Officer of HMCS Vancouver as well as members of Canada Company and other honoured guests. 

MGen Mike Day Speaks at Canada Company Event in Calgary – Nov 27, 2013

Mike Day and Peter Hart

Canada Company Managing Director Peter Hart was warmly welcomed by members of the Alberta Chapter on Wed Nov 27 for an evening reception at the Petroleum Club in Calgary. Major-General D.M. DAY, OMM, CD Chief of Force Development shared some great intel on life in the military as well as the past, present and future direction of the Canadian Armed Forces. Special thanks go to Canada Company member Gordon Ritchie, Vice Chairman of RBC Capital Markets, for coordinating the event.

Chaplains' Benevolent Fund gets boost

Chaplains' Benevolent Fund

Honorary Colonel Donald Hewson, (left) 19 Wing Comox Honorary Colonel, presents, Major Matthew Lucas, 19 Wing Chaplain, with a cheque for $10,000 to the Chaplains' Benevolent Fund in the 19 Wing headquarters building December 2, 2013.

Following on the success of the Christmas Service of Lessons and Carols at the All Angels Chapel on December 1, the Chaplains' Benevolent Fund received a major boost from Canada Company. A cheque for $10,000 was presented by 19 Wing Honorary Colonel Donald Hewson on December 2, 2013 to the Benevolent Fund, which supports military families during emergencies or crises. In addition to the Canada Company donation, $1311 was raised by over 150 attendees of the service. Since then, HCol Hewson raised a further $1500.

The chaplains at 19 Wing actively raise money for the Fund throughout the year, but this donation represents a substantial jump in their abilities to provide emergency support to local military families throughout the year. 

BC Chapter News: Breakfast Visit

BC Chapter Breakfast Visit

Canada Company Founder Blake Goldring paid a visit to the BC Chapter members on July 9, 2013. Breakfast was served at the Loden Hotel in downtown Vancouver while Blake enjoyed meeting with BC members including the newest member, Tom Gautreau, who received a Canada Company coin.

British Columbia Chapter President Donald Hewson appointed Honorary Colonel

HCol Donald Hewson

On July 24, 2012, Donald Hewson, BC Chapter President was welcomed as Honorary Colonel (HCol) of 19 Wing Comox in a ceremony held at CFB Comox. Honorary Colonels work behind the scenes and provide a connection between the community and the Canadian Forces. As a Canada Company member and Chapter President, Don has a history of working to support Canadian Forces members and their families, and his new appointment will see him attend to certain responsibilities such as fostering esprit de corps as well as developing, promoting and sustaining strong community support for the unit. 

Snowbirds & Canada Company

Snowbirds and Canada Company

On the low overcast morning of Saturday, April 28th, 4 members of Canada Company's British Columbia chapter made their way through the front gate of 19 Wing Comox in anticipation of a day with Canada's ambassadors of the air, the men and women of 431 (Air Demonstration) Squadron also known as the Snowbirds.

At the invitation of Lieutenant Trevor Reid, the Public Affairs Officer for the base in Comox, and Captain Thomas Edelson, the Snowbirds' new Public Affairs Officer, Don Hewson, Marcello De Cotiis, Bob Thompson and Dan Whittle had the honour and pleasure of visiting with the Snowbirds during their annual work-ups in Comox prior the upcoming air show season. This year's air show schedule is dedicated to the citizens and territories of Canada's North with the team flying over 50 performances in almost 40 different locations throughout North America.

After the 1 hour practice session, Don invited members of the Snowbirds to attend dinner at his home which just happened to be located at the end of 19 Wing's main runway. At 6:30pm precisely, 6 members of the Snowbirds, including team leader Major Wayne Mott, appeared at the front door of the house with hefty appetites for what would be a grand feast. Also in attendance for dinner that night was 19 Wing's Commander, Colonel Jim Benninger as well at the Wing's Chief Warrant Officer, David Bolster along with Captain Erik O'connor and Captain Holly Brown of the CF-18 demonstration flight.

The hilight of the evening was a presentation by Major Mott of a Snowbirds Challenge Coin to Don Hewson in recognition of Canada Company's support of 431 Squadron. Earlier in the day, a Canada Company plaque was presented to Major Mott which will now be proudly displayed at the Snowbirds' home base in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan.

In 2009, a Canada Company scholarship was awarded to Scott Senecal, Son of Sergeant Charles (Chuck) Senecal who was killed in the crash of a Snowbirds' Tutor jet in Moose Jaw on October 9th, 2008. An additional scholarship was awarded in 2011 to Milann Mitchell who's Father, Captain Bryan (Mav) Mitchell was also killed in the same accident.

BC Chapter News: Soldier Wellness Program

Soldier Wellness Program

(L to R) Canada Company members Dan Whittle, Mark Zwanski, Eric Porter; CWO  Wishnicki; Canada Company BC Chapter President, Don Hewson; Colonel Bryan Gagne, Commander 39 CBG

On February 4, 2012 Canada Company BC President, Don Hewson, proudly presented a cheque for $65,000 to 39 Canadian Brigade Group Commander Colonel Bryan Gagne.

This effort kick-started a Program to support the Reservists of 39 CBG, comprised of 11 Army Reserve units and 1,500 personnel, of which approximately 300 have volunteered to serve during the Afghanistan deployments.

The program, called the BC Soldier Wellness Program, will help socialize the Reservists Soldiers with respect to their care needs, and help to address some of the challenges these Soldiers are experiencing as a result of their deployment while representing their country overseas.

We commend BC Chapter President Don Hewson for recognizing the need, and also Quebec Chapter President Steve Gregory for turning this into a national effort and joining in to support the BC Wellness Program with fundraising support.

British Columbia Chapter Receives Donation

BC Chapter Donation

(L to R) Brigade CWO Rob Wishnicki, Marcello De Cotiis, Don Hewson, Colonel Bryan Gagne

After the December 2, 2011 4th Annual Amacon Christmas Tree Lighting Celebration, Canada Company BC Chapter President Don Hewson was pleased to receive a cheque from Amacon in the amount of $5,000. This fourth annual Tree Lighting Celebration took place at Jack Poole Plaza in front of the Olympic Cauldron with performances by The Vancouver Children’s Choir, Christmas soloists and special guest appearances by the BC Lions along with the Felines, Bro Jake from Rock 101, and even Santa Claus himself joining in on the fun. The spotlight and beneficiaries of this event are families, especially children, so that everyone is able to enjoy the holiday season.

Up, up and away!

Donald Hewson and Erick Connor

Captain Erick O’connor (L) and Canada Company Member Don Hewson (R)

A creative writing piece by Daniel Whittle

The twin seat CF-18 Hornet jet sat peacefully on the tarmac of the Abbotsford airport one morning this August as Canada Company’s own Don Hewson (British Columbia Chapter) arrived for his required training to take flight with Captain Erick O’connor of 409 Fighter Squadron the day before the famed Abbotsford International Airshow was to begin. Captain O’connor is this year’s CF-18 airshow demonstration pilot with the theme for the jet being support for military families.

Don and Captain O’connor met in June of 2010 in Cold Lake, Alberta during a Canada Company VIP tour of 4 wing during Exercise MAPLE FLAG at which time a briefing about Canada Company took place to many of the air and ground crews on the base. From their very first hand shake, you could tell Captain O’connor and Don would become very good friends.

With Don and Erick keeping in contact throughout the following months, Captain O’connor clearly understood the mission of Canada Company and the success our group was having on behalf of military families elsewhere in the Country. After meeting again at 19 Wing Comox in the Spring of 2011, Don was able to view the new paint scheme for the dedicated demonstration jet which sported a bright red upper surface with a large yellow ribbon stretching from nose to tail. The coincidence of getting to know Canada Company while being the pilot of this special aircraft to honour military families was too much for Captain O’connor to ignore and soon, Don would get “the call”. With all the required paperwork, requests and protocols now in place, Don was set to suit up, strap in and go flying…the day had arrived.

After take-off, Erick and Don flew over to Vancouver Island for a nice view of that area of British Columbia at which time Don was able to sustain a 7.4G turn. For those of you who know Don, this won’t surprise you as he has the determination and grit to endure almost anything. The highlight of flight, however, is the arrival back at Abbotsford which attained a speed of 700mph, just shy of the sound barrier.

Upon landing and shut down of the aircraft, Captain O’connor presented Don with the official coin of the CF-18 Demonstration jet along with the thanks of the entire team for Don’s work on behalf of military families and Canada Company. It was a day both Don and Erick will never forget.

English

Ouest du Canada

Section de la Colombie-Britannique – Don au Fonds de bienfaisance des aumôniers de la 4e Escadre

BC Chapter Canada Company members

Le vendredi 3 juin 2016, le président de la section de la Colombie-Britannique de la Compagnie Canada, le Colonel honoraire Don Hewson, a accompagné un groupe de membres de sa section à la BFC Cold Lake, en Alberta, pour assister à l’Exercice Maple Flag qui a lieu annuellement au polygone de tir aérien de Cold Lake. Chaque année, des contingents des forces alliées participent à cet exercice, un des plus importants en son genre. Cette année, les membres de notre section de la C.-B. ont eu la chance d’observer des contingents de la US Air Force, de la US Air Force Reserve, de la Kentucky Air National Guard, des US Marine Corps, de la Royal Air Force (Grande-Bretagne) et de l’Armée de l’air de France.

Pendant la pause du midi, les membres de La Compagnie Canada ont pu échanger avec des militaires de la 4Escadre, basée à Cold Lake. Ils les ont ensuite remerciés pour cette occasion unique et ont mis leurs dons en commun pour remettre au Fonds de bienfaisance des aumôniers de la 4e Escadre un chèque de 10 000 $. Le Fond de bienfaisance utilise des dons comme celui-ci pour soutenir les membres de la 4e Escadre et leurs familles lorsqu’ils sont aux prises avec des besoins financiers inattendus.

Col honoraire Donald Hewson (à droite), président de la section de la C.-B. de La Compagnie Canada, remet un chèque à l’aumônier George Helou, capitaine dans la 19e Escadre de l’ARC, le 15 avril 2016.

Padres Benevolent 2016 Donation Cheque

La Compagnie Canada était fière de remettre ce chèque de 6 500 $ au Fonds de bienfaisance des aumôniers de la 19e Escadre. Cela porte à plus de 20 000 $ le soutien accordé depuis 2013 par La Compagnie Canada. Ce Fonds est utilisé pour répondre aux besoins financiers imprévus et urgents des militaires de la 19e Escadre et de leur famille, notamment pour couvrir les frais d’essence, de traversiers et des repas lorsque les militaires doivent se rendre à l’hôpital sur le continent avec des enfants malades, pour amener un parent au chevet d’un conjoint subissant une chirurgie – un soutien en ces moments difficiles, ou encore pour acheter quelque 20 cartes-cadeaux de marchés d’alimentation et d’autres détaillants locaux pour offrir aux familles dans le besoin pendant les Fêtes de Noël.
Les aumôniers de la 19e Escadre recueillent des fonds durant toute l’année, notamment dans le cadre du défi The Beard Growing Challenge, mais ce don-ci vient rehausser de façon substantielle leurs capacités à fournir un soutien d’urgence aux familles militaires locales pendant l’année entière.

Des nouvelles de la section de la C.-B. – Événement de mobilisation des membres

LCol Ed Izatt

Lcol Ed Izatt, commandant de l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) Tremblement de terre de 2015 au Népal

Le mardi 9 février 2016, les membres de la section de Colombie-Britannique de La Compagnie Canada ont eu l’occasion d’entendre un compte-rendu de première main de l’Opération Renaissance, le nom que les FAC ont attribué aux opérations de secours menées par l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) au Népal, à la fin d’avril et au début de mai 2015. Cet exposé, présenté par le Lieutenant-colonel Ed Izatt, commandant de l’EICC au moment de ce déploiement, a donné aux membres présents un excellent exemple des diverses capacités des FAC et de l’importance de poursuivre les efforts de soutien humanitaire dans le monde entier.

Exercice national de recherche et de sauvetage (SAREX)

Sarex

L’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC) a tenu son exercice national de recherche et de sauvetage (SAREX) du 14 au 19 septembre à la 19e Escadre Comox. Cette année, l’événement annuel était organisé par le 442e Escadron de transport et de sauvetage. L’événement d’une semaine rassemble des unités militaires et civiles en recherche et sauvetage dans le cadre de scénarios d’entraînement complexes qui ressemblent à de réelles missions. La compétition entre les équipes est conçue pour maintenir et améliorer les compétences en matière de précision de parachutage, de réponse médicale d’urgence, de procédures de recherche, de communication, d’entretien d’aéronef et d’équipement et, bien sûr, d’esprit d’équipe. Cette année, l’événement incluait toutes les unités de recherche et de sauvetage (SAR) des Forces armées canadiennes ainsi que des participants de l’étranger. Plusieurs membres de la Compagnie Canada ont été ravis de pouvoir se rendre à Comox en hélicoptère pour observer l’exercice et démontrer leur appui.

Le président de la section de la C.-B. est nommé membre honoraire nº471 des Snowbirds

Hewson and Snowbirds

Don Hewson, président de la section de la Colombie-Britannique de la Compagnie Canada, a reçu tout un honneur le 15 août 2015 lors des festivités entourant le spectacle aérien de Comox. Il a été admis au sein de la Société des Snowbirds honoraires. Selon le site Web des Snowbirds, cet insigne honneur est réservé à ceux qui « ont fait preuve d’un engagement à la fois ferme, durable, inconditionnel et désintéressé envers l’équipe et sa mission ».

Symbole canadien, l’équipe des Snowbirds des Forces canadiennes (431e Escadron de démonstration aérienne) est composée de membres actifs des FAC. Ses pilotes et techniciens font équipe pour offrir au public nord-américain d’impressionnants spectacles. Dans leur rôle d’ambassadeurs du Canada, les Snowbirds démontrent les compétences, le professionnalisme et l’esprit de corps inhérents aux femmes et aux hommes de l’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC) et des Forces armées canadiennes.

Toutes nos félicitations Don!

Mgén Dave Wheeler – Événement à Vancouver

Dave Wheeler Event in Vancouver

La section de Colombie-Britannique de la Compagnie Canada a tenu son diner des membres le 13 mai dernier au bel hôtel Loden, sur la rue Melville, au centre-ville de Vancouver. En plus des membres de la Compagnie Canada Patrick Ma, Tom Gautreau, Marcello de Cotiis, Bill Waugh, Jeff Stibbards, Marty Dohm et du président de la section Don Hewson, nous avons eu l’honneur d’accueillir le Major-général Dave Wheeler, commandant de la 1re Division aérienne du Canada.

Vice-amiral Norman à Calgary

Mark Norman and Angela Mondou

Le 2 mars 2015, la Compagnie Canada a tenu un événement de mobilisation de ses membres au Calgary Petroleum Club. Le conférencier pour cette soirée, Vice-amiral Mark Norman, a su captiver l’auditoire avec une inspirante discussion sur les questions de sécurité et de défense au Canada. Lors de la séance de questions, Vice-amiral Norman a offert sans hésitation des réponses instructives qui ont permis aux participants de mieux comprendre les enjeux auxquels le Canada fait face actuellement, autant au pays qu’à l’étranger. Nous souhaitons remercier Gord Ritchie, le tout nouveau président de la section de l’Alberta de la Compagnie Canada, pour son aide dans l’organisation de cet événement exceptionnel.

Les Canucks de Vancouver appuient nos troupes

Canucks game

Adj Russ Robertson (gauche) et Jonathan Wall (droite)

L’Adjudant Russ Robertson, sergent-major de la 6e Compagnie du renseignement, était fier d’avoir été choisi pour assister à la partie disputée par les Canucks le 16 février 2015, en tant qu’invité de l’organisation. M. Jonathan Wall, directeur administratif de l’organisation des Canucks de Vancouver, a généreusement offert des billets à la Compagnie Canada pour qu’elle les distribue aux membres de nos Forces armées canadiennes pendant la saison 2014-2015. L’Adj Robertson, qui a à son actif deux tours en Bosnie et un tour en Afghanistan, était vraiment heureux de pouvoir vivre cette expérience avec son père Ed.

Père et fils ont encouragé leur équipe qui a remporté la victoire 3-2 contre le Wild du Minnesota.

General Tom Lawson s'adresse aux invités au Vancouver Club le 28 novembre 2014

Dinner at Vancouver Club

La section de la Colombie-Britannique a eu le plaisir d'accueillir le général Tom Lawson, chef d’état-major de la défense, lors d'un dîner au Vancouver Club le 28 novembre 2014. Le président de la section de la C.-B., Don Hewson, a accueilli le général Lawson, le colonel Tom Dunne, commandant de la 19e escadre Comox, le commandant Jeffrey Climenhaga, capitaine de Frégate, NCSM Vancouver ainsi que des membres de La Compagnie Canada et autres invités d'honneur. 

Présentation du MGén Mike Day à une conférence de La Compagnie Canada à Calgary – 27 novembre 2013

Mike Day and Peter Hart

Les membres de la section de l'Alberta ont réservé un accueil chaleureux à l'administrateur délégué de La Compagnie Canada, Peter Hart, lors d'une réception le mercredi, 27 novembre 2013 au Petroleum Club de Calgary. Le Major-General D.M. DAY, OMM, Chef du développement des Forces, a relaté des témoignages et anecdotes sur la vie militaire et parlé de la direction passée présente et future des Forces armées canadiennes. Nous remercions sincèrement le membre de La Compagnie Canada Gordon Ritchie, vice-président, RBC Marchés des Capitaux, qui a assuré de l'événement. 

Le Fonds de bienfaisance des aumôniers reçoit un coup de pouce.

Chaplains' Benevolent Fund

M. Donald Hewson, Colonel honoraire de la 19e Escadre Comox (à gauche), remet au Major Matthew Lucas, aumônier de la 19e Escadre, un chèque de 10 000 dollars pour le Fonds de bienfaisance de aumôniers au quartier général de la 19e Escardre, le 2 décembre 2013.

Après le succès du Christmas Service of Lessons and Carols à la chapelle All Angels, le Fonds de bienfaisance des aumôniers a reçu un important coup de pouce de la Compagnie Canada. 

Un chèque de 10 000 $ a été remis par le Colonel honoraire de la 19e Escadre Donald Hewson le 2 décembre à la Caisse de bienfaisance qui soutient les familles de militaires en cas d'urgence ou de crise. En plus de ce don de la Compagnie Canada, 1 311 $ ont été amassés par plus de 150 participants au service. Depuis, le Col honoraire Hewson a levé un autre 1 500 $. 

Les aumôniers de la 19e Escadre lèvent activement de l'argent pour le Fonds tout au long de l'année, mais ce don représente un apport considérable dans leurs capacités à fournir une aide locale d'urgence aux familes des militaires tout au long de l'année. 

De la grande visite pour la section de la C.-B.

BC Chapter Breakfast Visit

Le fondateur de La Compagnie Canada Blake Goldring a rendu visite aux membres de la section de la Colombie-Britannique le 9 juillet 2013. Un petit déjeuner a été servi à l'hôtel Loden au centre-ville de Vancouver, ce qui a donné à Blake la chance de rencontrer les membres de la section, y compris sa nouvelle recrue, Tom Gautreau, qui a reçu une pièce de monnaie de La Compagnie Canada.

Don Hewson, président de la section C.-B., nommé colonel honoraire

HCol Donald Hewson

Le 24 juillet 2012, Donald Hewson, président de la section C.-B., a accédé au rang de colonel honoraire de la 19e Escadre Comox lors d'une cérémonie à la BFC Comox. Les colonels honoraires travaillent dans les coulisses et servent de pont entre la communauté et les Forces canadiennes. En tant que membre de la Compagnie Canada et président de section, Don a l'habitude de travailler à l'encadrement des membres des Forces canadiennes et de leur famille; avec cette nomination, Don sera appelé à prendre certaines responsabilités comme la défense de l'esprit de corps et la conception, la promotion et le soutien à long terme de l'unité. Félicitations Don! 

Les Snowbirds et La Compagnie Canada

Snowbirds and Canada Company

Le samedi 28 avril, par un matin nuageux, quatre membres de La Compagnie Canada, section de la Colombie-Britannique, se sont rendus à l’entrée principale de la 19e Escadre Comox pour passer une journée avec les ambassadeurs des airs canadiens, les hommes et les femmes de l’Équipe de démonstration aérienne 431 (431 EDA), aussi connue comme les Snowbirds.

Invités par le Lieutenant Trevor Reid, officier des Affaires Publiques de la 19e Escadre de Comox, et le Capitaine Thomas Edelson, nouvel officier des Affaires publiques, Don Hewson, Marcello De Cotiis, Bob Thompson et Dan Whittle ont eu l’honneur et le plaisir rencontrer les Snowbirds alors qu’ils se préparaient pour la prochaine saison de spectacles aériens. L’horaire des spectacles aériens de cette année est dédié aux citoyens et aux territoires dans le Nord du Canada. L’équipe donnera plus de 50 spectacles dans environ 40 localités dans toute l’Amérique du Nord.

Après une heure d’exercice, des membres des Snowbirds ont été invités à souper chez Don; sa maison est située au fond de la piste principale de la 19e Escadre! À 18 h 30 tapant, six membres des Snowbirds, y compris le chef de l’équipe, le Major Wayne Mott, étaient devant la porte, prêts pour le festin. Parmi les convives, il y avant aussi le Commandant de la 19e Escadre, le Colonel Jim Benninger et l’Adjudant-chef de l’Escadre, David Bolster, ainsi que le Capitaine Erik O’Connor et la Capitaine Holly Brown, de l’équipe de démonstration du CF-18.

La soirée a été marquée par la présentation d’une pièce Snowbirds Challenge, par le majeur Mott, à Don Hewson en reconnaissance du soutien de La Compagnie Canada au 431e Escadron. Plus tôt dans la journée, une plaque de La Compagnie Canada a été remise au majeur Mott, laquelle sera fièrement exposée à la base principale des Snowbirds, à Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan.

En 2009, une bourse d’études de La Compagnie Canada a été octroyée à Scott Senecal, fils du Sergent Charles (Chuck) Senecal, tué dans un écrasement d’un jet Tutor à Moose Jaw, le 9 octobre 2008. Une autre bourse a été remise en 2011 Milann Mitchell, dont le père, le Capitaine Bryan (Mav) Mitchell, a perdu la vie dans le même accident.

Nouvelles de la section C.-B. – Programme de bien-être pour les soldats

Soldier Wellness Program

(g à d) Dan Whittle, Mark Zwanski et Eric Porter, membres de La Compagnie Canada; Rob Wishnicki, adjuc; Don Hewson, président de la section C.-B. de La Compagnie Canada; Colonel Bryan Gagné, commandant du 39e GBC.

Le 4 février 2012, Don Hewson, président de la section C.-B. de La Compagnie Canada, a eu l’honneur de présenter un chèque de 65 000 $ au Colonel Bryan Gagné, commandant du 39e Groupe-brigade du Canada.

Ce don a donné le coup d’envoi à un programme visant à soutenir les soldats réservistes du 39e GBC, lequel comprend 11 unités de la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne et 1 500 soldats dont 300 se sont portés volontaires pour les déploiements en Afghanistan.

Le programme, appelé Programme de bien-être pour les soldats de la C.-B., encouragera les soldats réservistes à mieux comprendre leurs besoins et les aidera à traiter des défis auxquels ils doivent faire face par suite de leur déploiement à l’étranger pour représenter leur pays.

Nous félicitons le président de la section C.-B. de La Compagnie Canada, Don Hewson, pour avoir mis en évidence le besoin qui existait ainsi que le président de la section Québec, Steve Gregory, pour s’être joint à la campagne de collecte de fonds pour soutenir le Programme de bien-être pour les soldats de la C.-B., en la transformant en une initiative nationale.

La section de la Colombie-Britannique reçoit un don

BC Chapter Donation

(de g. à d.) L’Adjudant-chef Rob Wishnicki, Marcello De Cotiis, Don Hewson et le Colonel Bryan Gagné.

Après la célébration annuelle de l’illumination de l’arbre de Noël d’Amacon, qui a eu lieu le 2 décembre 2011, le président de la section de la Colombie-Britannique de la Compagnie Canada, Don Hewson a accepté avec joie un chèque de 5 000 $ de la société Amacon. Cette célébration annuelle, qui en est à sa quatrième année, s’est déroulée à la Jack Poole Plaza, devant le Chaudron olympique. Pendant la célébration, le chœur d’enfants de Vancouver et des solistes ont chanté des chansons de Noël. Parmi les invités, il y avait l’équipe de football BC Lions et les Felines, Bro Jake de Rock 101 et le Père Noël lui-même! Les vedettes et les bénéficiaires de cet événement ont été les familles, surtout les enfants, qui ont pu célébrer les Fêtes dans la joie.

Attachez vos ceintures!

Donald Hewson and Erick Connor

Le capitaine Erick O’Connor (g) et Don Hewson (d), membre de La Compagnie Canada

Une article d'écriture créative par Daniel Whittle

Un matin de ce mois d’août, un jour avant le Spectacle international aérien d’Abbotsford, un CF-18 Hornet biplace était stationné sur la piste de l’aéroport d’Abbotsford attendant l’arrivée de Don Hewson, membre de La Compagnie Canada, section Colombie-Britannique. Don s’apprêtait à s’envoler avec le capitaine Erick O’connor, du 409e Escadron. Le capitaine O’Connor est le pilote de la démonstration du CF-18 aux spectacles aériens de cette année, dont le thème est Le soutien des familles de nos militaires.

Don et le capitaine O’Connor ont fait connaissance en juin 2010 à Cold Lake, Alberta, pendant une tournée de dignitaires de La Compagnie Canada de la 4e Escadre dans le cadre de l’exercice MAPLE FLAG. Pendant cette tournée, des membres des forces aériennes et terrestres de la base ont assisté à une séance d’information sur La Compagnie Canada. Dès la première poignée de main, une amitié est née entre le capitaine O’Connor et Don.

Grâce aux échanges qui ont ensuite eu lieu entre ces deux hommes, le capitaine O’Connor a vite compris quelle était la mission de La Compagnie Canada et le succès de notre organisme en faveur des familles de nos militaires dans le reste du Canada. À leur deuxième rencontre à la 19e Escadre Comox au printemps de cette année, Don a pu voir les nouvelles couleurs du CF-18 de démonstration : la partie supérieure de l’avion peinte en rouge avec un grand ruban jaune du nez à la queue. Le fait que le capitaine O’Connor soit le pilote de cet aéronef remarquable qui vise à honorer les familles des militaires et qu’il ait découvert La Compagnie Canada a été une occasion fortuite. En effet, Don a vite reçu « l’appel ». Le temps d’obtenir tous les permis et d’accomplir toutes les formalités, Don était prêt à revêtir l’uniforme et à s’envoler. Le grand jour était arrivé!

Après le décollage, Erick et Don ont survolé l’île de Vancouver et admiré la beauté de cette région de la Colombie-Britannique. Don a été en mesure de résister à une force g de 7,4. Ceux qui connaissent Don, savent à quel point il est déterminé et rien ne peut l’arrêter. Toutefois, le point saillant du vol a été le retour à Abbotsford, qui s’est déroulé à une vitesse de 700 milles à l’heure, juste au-dessous de la barrière du son.

Après avoir atterri et coupé les réacteurs, le capitaine O’Connor a remis à Don la pièce officielle du CF-18 de démonstration et l’a remercié au nom de toute l’équipe pour le travail qu’il accomplit au nom des familles des militaires et de La Compagnie Canada. Cette journée a été vraiment mémorable pour Don et Erick!